The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a Government framework that sets out minimum standards of care and learning that all childcare providers are expected to deliver. Its purpose is to ensure that each child is able to access a rich learning experience tailored to their individual needs whilst being cared for in a safe and secure environment.

The EYFS contains a series of Early Learning Goals that set out what most children are expected to achieve by the end of their reception year.

These goals are grouped into seven areas of learning:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language

Physical Development



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

As a nursery we continually observe, assess and develop the children in our care. This enables us to record their achievements within each of those seven areas of learning and then provide activities and resources that will give opportunity to extend each individual child’s learning and development. Each child is assigned a Keyworker to ensure that all records of learning are regularly updated and for the benefit of parents/carers.

The EYFS Framework is not a 'set in stone' curriculum, it is a foundation from which childcare practitioners can develop and provide effective learning opportunities adapted to the needs of each child, and tailored within the setting itself.

Please click on the links above for examples of how the EYFS is used in practice within the different age groups of children that we care for.

It doesn't end there...
In addition to the EYFS framework, we also cater for key stage 1 (ages 5-7) and key stage 2 (ages 7-11) age groups before & after school, during school holidays and on Saturday mornings.

We take the safeguarding of all children very seriously and as such this is treated as a priority. Giggles Galore has a duty of care to protect and safeguard the welfare of all children and young people they come into contact with. The need for guidelines and procedures is important to ensure that this is done with understanding and clarity.

Our Safeguarding duty includes:
Protecting all children from maltreatment
Preventing the impairment of children’s health or development
Ensuring that children are growing up in circumstances consistent with the

provision of safe and effective care
Taking action to enable all children to have the best outcomes
(Definition taken from the HM Government document ‘Working together to safeguard children April 2013’)

Further key safeguarding information is available via the publications below:


                                        Our Care & Learning